Lori Evans Bernstein, 2024 Zero Tolerance Honoree

Every year, at our Zero Tolerance Benefit, Sanctuary for Families honors those who have significantly contributed to the movement to end gender-based violence. This year, we are thrilled to present the 2024 Zero Tolerance Award to Lori Evans Bernstein, CEO and Co-Founder at Caraway.


Lori Evans Bernstein is the CEO and Co-Founder of Caraway, a healthcare company for Gen Z specializing in mental health and women’s health. Lori is a seasoned healthcare executive with 25+ years of experience in healthcare and health tech as an entrepreneur, operator, and government leader. Most recently, Lori was co-founder and president of HealthReveal, a clinical artificial intelligence (AI) company dedicated to combating chronic disease, acquired by Accolade (ACCD). Previously, Lori was appointed by the Governor of NY to serve as Deputy Commissioner of the New York State Health Department, responsible for setting up a new office on digital health transformation.

Lori writes and speaks regularly on digital health as a national expert and has received several professional honors. Lori holds an M.P.H. from George Washington University and a B.A. from Ohio Wesleyan University, where she currently serves on the Board of Trustees.

Lori was first introduced to Sanctuary as a guest at our Zero Tolerance Benefit and joined the Board of Directors in 2015. She quickly became a leader on the Board, serving on our Advocacy Committee (six years as chair or co-chair), Program Committee (two years as Chair), Development Committee, and Executive Committee. She has traveled to Albany to join our advocacy efforts, participated in countless Family Council events with her son Jack, and recently engaged her team at Caraway to assemble welcome kits for residents at Sanctuary’s shelter Sarah Burke House. Lori brings her creativity and big-picture thinking to all she does and was instrumental in moving forward two of Sanctuary’s strategic plans. Lori is also an athlete and joined Sanctuary’s marathon team in 2016, running in honor of gender violence survivors.