22nd Annual Abely Awards

In memory of Maryellen Abely

450 Lexington Avenue
6:00 pm

Online registration is closed. If you would like to attend, please email please email Chanel LeMond, Manager of Special Events.

About the Abely Awards

The Abely Awards honor the memory of Maryellen Abely, an alumna of Columbia Law School, an associate at Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP and a pro bono attorney at Sanctuary for Families’ Center for Battered Women’s Legal Services.

Maryellen was a tireless advocate for the rights of victims of domestic abuse and one of the first pro bono attorneys at the Legal Center. After a long battle with cancer, she died in 1995. In remembering Maryellen, we celebrate the contributions of pro bono attorneys, law students, and legal assistants whose efforts enable Sanctuary to serve thousands of domestic violence victims each year.

The Abely Awards honor individuals who have made a difference in the lives of victims of domestic violence and who embody Maryellen Abely’s compassion, zeal, energy and dedication.

This year, we are honoring:

Hon. Amiena Khan
Executive Vice President,
National Association of Immigration Judges
The Abely Award for Leading Women and
Children to Safety

Joel Kurtzberg
Cahill Gordon & Reindel LLP
The Abely Pro Bono Achievement Award

Ammar Monawar
Second-Year Student
Columbia Law School
The 2018 Maryellen Abely Fellowship

The Abely Awards are hosted by the Legal Advisory Council.

Special thanks to the members of our Board of Directors and President’s Council.